The Whatever is Left in My Fridge Salad (but it’s actually good)

Last night (Friday) I rushed home from yoga to eat and get ready to meet up with friends. I considered getting take out but, I knew  had some random things left in my fridge that if I didn’t eat would likely go to waste (and throwing away food makes me crazy). So you guessed it I decided to make dinner with whatever was left in my fridge.

To my shock this thrown together meal actually turned out to be delicious and hence I am sharing with all of you so you can enjoy it too (I am aware these ingredients are random).

Here’s what I found in my fridge (that I decided to use in this recipe)

  • 1/6th a head of organic iceberg lettuce
  • Baby beets
  • 1/4 a cucumber
  • a hot chili pepper
  • 1/4 a summer squash
  • 1 ripe vine tomato
  • goat cheese
  • ground lean turkey
  • 1 lime
  • spices

ground turkey and summer squash

On a plate I chopped the iceberg lettuce. I then diced the beets, cucumber and tomato and put them on top of the lettuce. I then crumbled pieces of goat cheese and sprinkled them onto the plate. I cut 1/3 of the lime and squeezed the juice over the salad.

In a frying pan I placed one serving of ground turkey (I use 2 ounce servings) and the diced summer squash.

Once the meat and squash were in the pan I added a sprinkle of basil and about 1/2 tablespoon of red curry seasoning (I am obsessed with the red curry spice from Trader Joes recently).

When the contents of the pan were completely cooked I squeezed the remains of the slice of lime on them, and added a few pieces of diced chili pepper.

I added the turkey/squash mix on top of the salad and presto, dinner is served!

whatever's in the fridge salad

Leave a Reply

