Should You Work Out on a Sick Day?

So it’s 1:20 in the afternoon, and I am just rolling myself out of bed. Considering I normally am up and out by 5:30 this is quite the change for me but I am home sick from work and let my body take all the rest it needed.

 My head is foggy and I have so much mucus both seeping from me and stuffed within me that I feel like my brain might explode. My throat is sore and scratchy, my eyes are dry, and my ears are ringing. Yes, spring has sprung and with the gorgeous flowers blooming all around comes this horrid nightmare we so nonchalantly call allergies…

The View From My Street 
I’m in my bed writing this post and I’ve decided to try a little test. Even though I feel like complete poo I’m going to see if going to the gym and doing a little cardio (and maybe some lifting if I feel up to it) will help me feel better. I’m going to get myself ready and go now and will report on what I did and how I feel when I get back!

When I got to the gym I was shocked to see how many people were there at 1:45 in the afternoon. Don’t people work? Jeeze, considering I looked like a puffy half dead person I was not thrilled to have all of this company, especially since there were a few cute guys there! Anyways below is the workout I did. I was there for a total of about 1 hour 15 minutes.

Me looking like death on the elliptical. Thank you allergies #nofilter 

Exercise I did at the gym:

-40 minutes of medium intensity cardio on the elliptical w 2 min cool down (I refrained from doing any intensive interval training since I am sick)

-3 sets of dips 10 reps each

-3 sets up incline push ups 10 reps each

-Short ab workout with bosu ball and v-sits

When I left the gym I was feeling a bit light-headed so immediately I bought myself a Vita Coc0 coconut water.

I find that coconut water helps me feel better anytime I’m feeling off so I figured I would drink one before eating to get my body back on track. Aside from a little light-headedness I felt significantly more energized than I did before my workout. I also had more ease breathing through my nose and felt that the workout had facilitated the mucus moving from my sinuses to my chest. (Not to say I don’t still have a boat load of mucus in my sinuses).

In the short term (few hours directly following the workout) I felt noticeably better than I did before I worked out. As mentioned above I had more energy, and my nasal passage felt clearer and easier to breathe through.

In the long term, I don’t think exercising had a huge impact in ridding me of my allergies other than it may have helped mobilize some of the mucus from my head into my chest. But, I think mentally it had an enormous impact on me. Getting myself out of bed and in motion helped me regroup and take a mental break from being sick. So in retrospect although exercise may not have directly influenced my allergy symptoms, it allowed me to energize, regroup, and feel better mentally, which in turn made me feel physically better for the time being.

One thought on “Should You Work Out on a Sick Day?

Leave a Reply

