My First Melon Green Smoothie

A coworker of mine who sees me drinking my smoothies every day recommended I try adding melon into some of my recipes. I thought hm how intriguing… 

Luckily for me, while rummaging the produce isle this passed weekend during my regular grocery shop I stumbled upon a “sale” sign directly below a heaping pile of cantaloup. Now cantaloup wouldn’t normally be my first choice melon (I’m more of a honeydew girl) but half price cantaloups were worth a shot so I scooped one into my cart.  Can you find it in there? 

 

Along with the cantaloup I bought some other fresh fruits for the week including pears, bananas, and grapefruit. I don’t know if this is just me but the process of grocery shopping, then putting all of my groceries away, and then planning out meals for the week is by far one of the most exhilarating feelings in the world. I think I get a little high from it, don’t act like you don’t too 😉 

 So in accordance with my normal post grocery shopping procedures I put all of my groceries away and then starting thinking of meals and smoothies. Then it dawned on me… I needed to try my very first melon smoothie. Below is how I made it, and my review on how it turned out. 

Ingredients:

1/4 cup of cantaloupe

1/2 cup of spinach 

1/2 of a pear 

1/4 cup almond milk 

 I decided to mix the cantaloupe with pear because while cantaloupe is sugary sweet, pears are bland and watery. I didn’t want to overwhelm the smoothie with sweetness so I figured these two would be a good combo and would keep the sugar level down. 

 

 

After I blended the above ingredients together my smoothie was a bit too thin for my liking so I put it in the freezer and let it freeze over night. By freezing and then defrosting the smoothie one can make an otherwise thin, juice-like smoothie thick and slushy.

 Outcome: 

 Not to toot my own horn here but holy heaven above this smoothie was SO good. It tasted perfectly sweet, and the spinach gave enough hint of greens to be refreshing as a neutral base. I’m glad I froze the mixture over night because by the time I drank the smoothie the next morning it had defrosted perfectly into a creamy, thick smoothie 🙂 

2 thoughts on “My First Melon Green Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Cantaloupe Quencher - Nosh My Way

Leave a Reply

