Tart Green Smoothies

After huge success with my first melon green smoothie , I decided to take things one step further and try a more tart version. If you will remember I first experimented with melon in a green smoothie by mixing it with a pear, almond milk and spinach. That smoothie was delectably sweet. I was in disbelief how sweet it tasted given I hadn’t added any sugar at all.

 So to change things up a bit I decided to make a melon smoothie with a sour twist… grapefruit! I put equal parts cantaloupe, grapefruit and spinach (about 1/2 cup each) in my magic bullet with about 1/2 a cup of water). I blended this combo into smooth and tried a taste. The tart

smoothie was a little too bitter for me so I added 1/4 of a frozen banana into the mix to even out that super bitter taste. The end result is a bitter-sweet, refreshing green smoothie unlike any I have ever made before.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup spinach

1/2 cup cantaloupe

1/2 cup grapefruit

1/4 frozen banana

1/2 cup water

Let me know what you guys think of it!

One thought on “Tart Green Smoothies

  1. Pingback: Day 1: Last 10 Days in May Magic Bullet Muffin Buster | Life Out of a Box

Leave a Reply

